Interviewing Can Be A Science

Posted on Updated on

We’ve all been interviewed at one point or another whether it be for a minimum wage job, or a entry level position, or for promotion. But there are some similarities in what you should and shouldn’t do in all three that I want to discuss. Since I interview for minimum wage job twice a week, I see a lot of mistakes that if not corrected will stay with you for an entry level or maybe a promotional job.

1.) Dress – If you interviewing for a retail position, you wear what brand your dressing for unless noted otherwise. I work in a casual retail store, and of course I appreciate the suit, but remember your applying for a brand. I’ve had multiple interviewees wear a hat…that’s an automatic non-hire! (Again, unless it’s a hat store your applying too). If it’s a restaurant or a department store, a suit may not be required, but something you wouldn’t usually wear on a normal day. Lastly for an entry level position, always business professional, unless otherwise noted. I’ve talked to many business professionals my age (Mid-20’s if you were wondering) and some older they all say the same – “There’s NEVER anything wrong with wearing a suit.” It makes yourself look professional and stand out of the crowd who felt that aspect wasn’t important.

2.)Eye Contact and Voice – I’ve interviewed hundreds of applicants who look down, look away, and most importantly look uninterested. You’ve taken the time to apply, you should always take a strong interest in the position since it may be something you really enjoy and have some talent in. Next, speak up and annunciate! If I can’t hear you in a quiet setting, it shows uncertainty and a lack of confidence. And if you are talking, talk with sincerity and confidence (Again). This goes for all three levels of interviews. You’re essentially selling yourself, and you should be able to speak of yourself better than anything else you know. On the other hand, don’t assume you got the position in the interview! I’ve had great interviews and I always ask if they have any last questions, and if they say (even if they think they’re joking) “when do I start??,” I change my mind about hiring that person.

3.) Presence – Do not be late!! If you are going to be late, it better be a really good excuse! I’d also, in my own opinion, reschedule if you know you are going to be late. In my field of retail, if you’re late to the interview, you’re just indicating that you’re going to be late to work. Lastly, just based off of personal experience, don’t smoke before your interview, defiantly don’t have a drink, and come with knowledge of the company and plenty of questions.

Picture Credit

 

Leave a Reply

